Saw something called ‘Humanity’

Yes i know many people must be thinking this word called ‘Humanity’ is nothing new and why the hell am i writing about it. Well yesterday i just experienced what Humanity is exactly like. I myself agree that being human we don’t act like one. Well it’s not our fault at all it’s something called ‘Materialistic Pleasure’ is what has to be blamed.

Yesterday my granny’s old fridge had some problem with it’s compressor. I am not an electrician so i don’t know what the problem exactly was but yes i knew there was some problem with the compressor as the freezer was not accumulating any ice. My granny is in love with her 35years old godrej fridge and so she gets very tensed whenever she sees something wrong with her fridge she takes the makes the whole world upside down. But that’s not the case. Well she called me quickly from down where i was playing football to call up this electrician called ‘Joseph’. She said that this guy was trust worthy and knows her fridge like a family doctor knows his/her patient. I saw the watch and told her that it was 9pm and that no one would come so late. But she insisted me to at least try at once. So i did i went to his place as his cell was switched off i met him and called him. Poor guy was busy with his friend joking and fooling around after a long day work. I asked him politely to please come and fix up the fridge as there was food inside the fridge which would get spoilt. It was chicken after all i had to save it, I love chicken, jokes apart. So he came after half an hour saw the fridge saw the compressor and within 5 minutes he fixed it like it was before. My granny went and opened her purse to pay the guy. He saw my nani and said no need to pay ma’am. I was shocked listening to this he almost takes 50rs per visit and that too in the night around 9pm, i know it’s not that late but after a long day coming and resting, chilling around with friends and then suddenly going for another visit. I thought he might charge at least 100rs because it was not his working hour at that time. He said No need to pay me ma’am and just left. My granny told me see this is called ‘Humanity’.

I know friends this is not a great deal i mean you must be thinking how am i relating this to humanity. But to tell you a fact is humanity doesn’t mean you have serve humanity at a large scale, it starts from bits and pieces, adjoining them will make a bigger and a better world. This story is one of the bits and pieces of humanity

2 Comments

  1. biblar said,

    April 21, 2010 at 7:03 am

    My daughter had a similar experience recently. In this egocentric and decaying world we live in, it is so refreshing to still come across thoroughly decent people.

    It’s shocking though, to realise that we are rather astounded when we come across incidents of kindness. I think the most important aspect is to ensure we too emulate them.

  2. Soham said,

    May 24, 2010 at 5:55 am

    Well written…great thought…’Aai’ is always superb!


Leave a Reply

